BATU CAVES

The Batu Caves are a collection of caves, some of which have been converted into temples, in a limestone hill 10 kilometers north of Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia. These caves are the largest Hindu sanctuary outside of India.
Dedicated to Murugan (Karttikeya), these shrines are among the most popular outside of India. This is the gathering point at the big Hindu festival of Thaipusam in Malaysia.
Batu's name comes from the nearby Batu River and Batu Village.
The limestone of Batu Mountain is 200 million years old.
The main cave consists of a gigantic corridor of about 100 meters long, 30 meters wide and 100 meters high ending in an avenue of 50 meters in diameter and 200 meters deep.

Rising nearly 100 meters above the ground, the religious complex formed by the Batu Caves consists of three main caves and several smaller ones. The largest, known as the "Cathedral Grotto" or "Temple Grotto", is 100 meters high, and boasts richly decorated Hindu shrines. To reach it, visitors have to climb a steep staircase of 272 steps.

At the base of the hill are two other caves built into temples, the "Cave of the Art Gallery" and the "Cave of the Museum", both filled with statues and Hindu paintings. This complex was renovated and opened under the name "Cave Villa" in 2008. Many shrines relate to Murugan's victory story (also known as Skanda or Kārttikeya). on the Surapadam daemon (or Surapadman). Visitors can visit with an audioguide.
The cave of Ramayana is quite to the left when you look at the sheer wall of the hill. Going towards the Ramayana Cave is a 15-meter high Hanuman murti and a temple dedicated to Hanuman, the noble monkey who faithfully assisted Rama in her quest to reclaim Sita. The dedication ceremony of the temple took place in November 2001.
The cave of Ramayana tells in a pictorial form - very effectively - the story of Rama in the manner of a chronicle. It is well lit and allows the visitor to progress by looking at all the representations that appear on the irregular walls of the cave. One can feel there the impression that one advances in the giant guts of the powerful demon, Kumbhakaran (or Kumbhakarna), the brother of the king Rāvana de Lankā.
A statue of 42.7 meters high this Murugan was inaugurated in January 2006, after three years of work. It is the highest statue of Murugan in the world.

1/1

Back

  • google+
  • facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

shop-lot 131 Kompleks Pekan Rabu,

Persiaran Putera, Kuah

07000 Langkawi | Kedah Darul Aman Malaysia

© 2019 TESNIM Travel & Tours SDN. BHD.

1222886-M

KPK/LN 8607

GROTTES DE BATU

Les grottes de Batu sont un ensemble de grottes, dont certaines ont été aménagées en temples, dans une colline calcaire située à 10 kilomètres au nord de Kuala Lumpur en Malaisie. Ces grottes constituent le plus grand sanctuaire hindou hors de l'Inde.

Consacrées à Murugan (Kârttikeya), ces sanctuaires comptent parmi les plus populaires qui soient en dehors de l'Inde. C'est le point de rassemblement lors de la grande fête hindoue de Thaipusam en Malaisie.

Le nom de Batu vient de la rivière Batu et du village Batu situés à proximité.

Le calcaire de la montagne Batu date de 200 millions d'années.

La grotte principale est formée d'un gigantesque couloir d'environ 100 mètres de long, 30 mètres de large et 100 mètres de haut se terminant par un aven de 50 mètres de diamètre et 200 mètres de profondeur.

S'élevant à près de 100 mètres au-dessus du sol, le complexe religieux formé par les grottes de Batu se compose de trois grottes principales et de plusieurs autres plus petites. La plus importante, connue sous le nom de « Grotte cathédrale » ou de « Grotte du temple », atteint 100 mètres de haut, et s'enorgueillit de sanctuaires hindous richement décorés. Pour l'atteindre, les visiteurs doivent grimper un escalier assez raide de 272 marches.

 

À la base de la colline se trouvent deux autres grottes aménagées en temples, la « Grotte de la galerie d'art » et la « Grotte du musée », toutes deux remplies de statues et de peintures hindoues. Cet ensemble a été rénové, et ouvert sous le nom de « Villa de la grotte » (Cave Villa) en 2008. Beaucoup de sanctuaires se rattachent à l'histoire de la victoire de Murugan (connu également sous les noms de Skanda ou de Kārttikeya) sur le démon Surapadam (ou Surapadman). Les visiteurs peuvent effectuer une visite avec un audioguide.

La grotte du Ramayana se trouve tout à fait à gauche lorsque l'on regarde la paroi à pic de la colline. En allant vers la grotte du Ramayana se trouve un murti de Hanuman de 15 mètres de haut ainsi qu'un temple dédié à Hanuman, le noble singe qui assista fidèlement Rāma dans sa quête pour reconquérir Sītā. La cérémonie de consécration du temple a eu lieu en novembre 2001.

La grotte du Ramayana raconte sous forme imagée — de façon fort efficace — l'histoire de Rāma à la façon d'une chronique. Elle est bien éclairée et permet au visiteur de progresser en regardant tout à loisir les représentations qui figurent sur les parois irrégulières de la grotte. On peut y ressentir l'impression que l'on avance dans les boyaux géants du puissant démon, Kumbhakaran (ou Kumbhakarna), le frère du roi Rāvana de Lankā.

Une statue de 42,7 mètres de haut ce Murugan a été inaugurée en janvier 2006, après trois ans de travaux. C'est la plus haute statue de Murugan au monde.

1/1

Retour

  • google+
  • facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

shop-lot 131 Kompleks Pekan Rabu,

Persiaran Putera, Kuah

07000 Langkawi | Kedah Darul Aman Malaysia

© 2019 TESNIM Travel & Tours SDN. BHD.

1222886-M

KPK/LN 8607